To set the scene: I was working my usual Friday or Saturday night shift in high school back in the earlier days of my serving career. I was finishing up a crazy night and looking forward to clocking out when I notice a man (stagger) into the dining room. Oh god. I could instantly sense trouble. Within seconds he seemed to have spotted people he knew and grabbed a seat at my table that I was just about to cash out! &$%@ So I approach the man, after he greets the party. From what I remember everyone was older, middle aged. Before this man came in everything went smooth. I served them dinner, separated the checks according to couple and was about the be on my way when classic that guy strolls in to mess sh*t up.
So I approach the table. I remember asking the guy if I could get him anything. Drunkly, he looks up at me and goes, "I sure hope you fuc%3ng can!" Nervous laughter from myself and probably even the people at the table. "Do you job and bring me a double grey goose...." on the rocks or mixed with water or something insane like that. Sure jerk off. I'll be right back. I wanted to say. I turned around and headed for my bartender for a huddle.
There's a fine line between doing whatever you can to make your customer happy/getting a good tip and over serving someone already intoxicated or underage. It can actually be a really intense situation to cut someone off.
I tell the bartender on duty my situation. She's older, knows her shit, been around a long time...that kind of thing. She didn't seem to take any bullshit and I honestly assumed she would have no problem telling the guy to F off. She had me point him out and all she said was, I know him. And proceeded to pour the drink. I couldn't believe that this was all cool, but I was young, nervous and trying to do my job.
Now, regardless of who dropped the drink off or not, it still got served. It happened. He was s#it canned. I stood there and painstakingly watched the table. I wanted the couples to put their payment into my book and allow me to cash them out so I could GTFO of dodge. I didn't want to deal with this drunk. My shift was over. And then it happened. It was like a bomb went off in slow motion...
He was sitting closely to another booth, where my coworker was taking an order. The next thing I see is this guy turn toward her and smack her booty. All hell seemed to break lose and it was like things just stopped. I had no idea what the hell to do at this point. But my co-workers reaction was perfect: she turned around and decked the guy. Someone, probably me, ran to the biggest, scariest cooks we had in the back and told them to come out. All the guys came out to the dining room with their arms folded ready to kick some redneck ass.
I honestly don't remember how things went down after, but the jerk agreed to leave on his own terms.This story stuck with me for all these years. I felt like shit. I knew I should have stopped him from even being in the restaurant but I didn't feel it was my place.
It would be important to note that there really was no designated manager on duty. It was chaos a lot of the time, especially when there was nobody in charge to take action. Dealing with all of the crazies has made me a lot more assertive and less trusting.
Don't be afraid to stand up for yourself. If you're uncomfortable doing something, don't be afraid to walk away. Sometimes losing a tip that probably wasn't even there to begin with is okay. Deep breaths and pick your battles!

No comments:
Post a Comment